FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 26, 2023

Contact: Pam Johnson pjohnson@maetoday.org

601-201-7142

PRO-PUBLIC EDUCATION CANDIDATES LAND SUPPORT FROM MISSISSIPPI ASSOCIATION OF EDUCATORS

Smart funding, better pay, and stronger schools are priorities for slate of endorsed candidates in 2023 election cycle

JACKSON, MS - Today, the Mississippi Association of Educators (MAE) announced its first slate of endorsed candidates for statewide and legislative office. The coveted endorsements come as support for Mississippi's public schools emerges as a central theme in this year's elections.

"Ninety percent of Mississippi students attend Mississippi public schools, and our state's success depends on their success," said MAE President and second grade teacher Erica Jones. "Every student in our public schools deserves a quality education, a great teacher in every classroom, and up-to-date learning materials in safe, clean schools. Electing candidates who will actively work to make that happen is a critical component of making Mississippi an economic and educational powerhouse."

After a thorough review of each candidate's record by MAE and acceptance of MAE's invitation for endorsement, the following candidates were approved for endorsement:

STATEWIDE OFFICE

• BRANDON PRESLEY, for Governor

STATE SENATE

- DAVID BLOUNT, DISTRICT 29, HINDS COUNTY
- NICOLE AKINS BOYD, DISTRICT 9, LAFAYETTE, PANOLA COUNTIES
- HOB BRYAN, DISTRICT 7, ITAWAMBA, LEE, MONROE COUNTIES
- ALBERT BUTLER, DISTRICT 37, ADAMS, FRANKLIN, HINDS, CLAIBORNE, JEFFERSON,
 COPIAH
- KELVIN E. BUTLER, DISTRICT 38, ADAMS, AMITE, PIKE WALTHALL, WILKERSON COUNTIES

- ANGELA TURNER FORD, DISTRICT 16, CLAY, NOXUBEE, OKTIBBEHA, LOWNDES COUNTIES
- HILLMAN TEROME FRAZIER, DISTRICT 27, HINDS, MADISON COUNTIES
- ROD HICKMAN, DISTRICT 32, KEMPER, LAUDERDALE, NOXUBEE, WINSTON COUNTIES
- JOHN HORHN, DISTRICT 26, HINDS, MADISON COUNTIES
- DAVID L JORDAN, DISTRICT 24, LEFLORE, PANOLA, TALLAHATCHIE COUNTIES
- TYLER MCCAUGHN, DISTRICT 31, LAUDERDALE, NEWTON, RANKIN, SCOTT COUNTIES
- CHAD MCMAHAN, DISTRICT 6, LEE COUNTY
- SOLLIE B NORWOOD, DISTRICT 28, HINDS COUNTY
- DERRICK T SIMMONS, DISTRICT 12, BOLIVAR, COAHOMA, WASHINGTON COUNTIES
- SARITA M SIMMONS, DISTRICT 13, BOLIVAR, COAHOMA, WASHINGTON COUNTIES
- JOSEPH C THOMAS, DISTRICT 22, HUMPREEYS, MADISON, SHARKEY, YAZOO COUNTIES
- BART WILLIAMS, DISTRICT 15, ATTALA, CARROLL, GRENADA, LEFLORE, MONTGOMERY COUNTIES

STATE HOUSE

- JERAMEY D ANDERSON, DISTRICT 110, JACKSON COUNTY
- OTIS ANTHONY, DISTRICT 31, BOLIVAR, SUNFLOWER COUNTIES
- WILLIE L BAILEY, DISTRICT 49, WASHINGTON COUNTY
- NICK BAIN, DISTRICT 2, ALCORN COUNTY
- CHRISTOPHER BELL, DISTRICT 65, HINDS COUNTY
- WILLIAM R BROWN, DISTRICT 70, HINDS COUNTY
- BRYANT W CLARK, DISTRICT 47, BOLIVAR, ISSAQUENA, WASHINGTON COUNTIES
- ANGELA COCKERHAM, DISTRICT 96, AMITE, PIKE, WILKENSON COUNTIES
- SAM J CREEKMORE, DISTRICT 14, UNION COUNTY
- RONNIE CRUDUP, DISTRICT 71, HINDS COUNTY
- OSCAR DENTON, DISTRICT 55, WARREN COUNTY
- BOB EVANS, DISTRICT 91, COVINGTON, FORREST, JEFF DAVIS, JONES, SIMPSON COUNTIES
- JOHN FAULKNER, DISTRICT 5, BENTON, LAFAYETTE, MARSHALL COUNTIES
- STEPHANIE FOSTER, DISTRICT 63, HINDS, MADISON COUNTIES
- DALE GOODIN, DISTRICT 105, FORREST COUNTY
- JEFFERY HARNESS, DISTRICT 85, CLARKE, JASPER, NEWTON COUNTIES
- JOHN W HINES, DISTRICT 50, FRANKLIN, LAWRENCE, LINCOLN, PIKE COUNTIES
- GREG L HOLLOWAY, DISTRICT 76, COPIAH, HINDS
- ROBERT L JOHNSON, DISTRICT 94, ADAMS, FRANKLIN, JEFFERSON COUNTIES
- KABIR KARRIEM, DISTRICT 41, YAZOO, ATTALA, HOLMES COUNTIES

- HESTER JACKSON MCCRAY, DISTRICT 40, DESOTO COUNTY
- DANA UNDERWOOD MCLEAN, DISTRICT 39, LOWNDES COUNTY
- SOLOMON OSBORNE, DISTRICT 32, CARROLL, GRENADA, LAFAYETTE, YALOBUSHA COUNTY
- ORLANDO W PADEN, DISTRICT 26, BOLIVAR, SUNFLOWER, COUNTIES
- DARYL L PORTER, DISTRICT 98, ADAMS, AMITE, FRANKLIN, PIKE COUNTIES
- TRACEY T ROSEBUD, DISTRICT 30, GRENADA, SUNFLOWER, TALLAHATCHIE COUNTIES
- OMERIA SCOTT, DISTRICT 80, CLARKE, JASPER, JONES COUNTIES
- ZAKIYA SUMMERS, DISTRICT 68, HINDS, RANKIN COUNTIES
- CHEIKH TAYLOR, DISTRICT 38, LOWNDES, MONROE COUNTIES
- RICKEY W THOMPSON, DISTRICT 16, LEE, CHICKASAW, MONROE COUNTIES
- SHANDA YATES, DISTRICT 64, HINDS, MADISON COUNTIES
- CHARLES L YOUNG, DISTRICT 82, LAUDERDALE COUNTIES

The MAE endorsement is based on candidates' demonstrated commitment to public education, their stated support for public schools and educators, and an understanding of the critical role public schools play in our communities. MAE anticipates that endorsed candidates will participate in MAE's Public School Caucus that will bring all interested parties together to determine a viable answer to the on-going issue of full, smart, and fair funding for all state public schools.

"Mississippi's rise begins in our public schools, and stronger schools today mean a stronger Mississippi tomorrow," said President Jones. "As an organization committed to improving education across Mississippi, we believe these candidates have the vision, leadership, and commitment necessary to create a better future for all of our students, educators and communities. We urge voters to support them, and to become engaged in the upcoming election – our children and our future depend on it."

CORRECTION: Senator Albert Butler is a candidate in Senate District 37; he was previously reported as a candidate in District 36. Rep. Gregory Holloway, Sr. is a candidate in House District 76, representing portions of Copiah and Hinds County; he was previously reported as representing Madison and Rankin Counties.

###

About the Mississippi Association of Educators

MAE is a non-partisan association of members composed of Mississippi elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty and staff, educational support professionals,

retired educators and college students preparing to become teachers. Our fundamental objective is to work for improved salaries, benefits, and working conditions for all education professionals and support staff, as well as for a strong Mississippi public education system. Formed in 1878, MAE is the oldest and most powerful education association in the state of Mississippi.