

# **2023 MAE ENDORSEES**

First Round, June 26, 2023

After a thorough review of each candidate's record by MAE and acceptance of MAE's invitation for endorsement, the following candidates were approved for endorsement:

# **STATEWIDE OFFICE**

• BRANDON PRESLEY, for Governor

### SENATE

- **DAVID BLOUNT,** DISTRICT DISTRICT 29, HINDS COUNTY
- NICOLE AKINS BOYD, DISTRICT DISTRICT 9, LAFAYETTE, PANOLA COUNTIES
- HOB BRYAN, DISTRICT DISTRICT 7, ITAWAMBA, LEE, MONROE COUNTIES
- ALBERT BUTLER, DISTRICT DISTRICT 36, RANKIN, SMITH COUNTIES
- **KELVIN E. BUTLER**, DISTRICT DISTRICT 38, ADAMS, AMITE, PIKE WALTHALL, WILKERSON COUNTIES
- **ANGELA TURNER FORD,** DISTRICT DISTRICT 16, CLAY, NOXUBEE, OKTIBBEHA, LOWNDES COUNTIES
- HILLMAN TEROME FRAZIER, DISTRICT DISTRICT 27, HINDS, MADISON COUNTIES
- **ROD HICKMAN,** DISTRICT DISTRICT 32, KEMPER, LAUDERDALE, NOXUBEE, WINSTON COUNTIES
- JOHN HORHN, DISTRICT DISTRICT 26, HINDS, MADISON COUNTIES

- **DAVID L JORDAN,** DISTRICT DISTRICT 24, LEFLORE, PANOLA, TALLAHATCHIE COUNTIES
- **TYLER MCCAUGHN,** DISTRICT DISTRICT 31, LAUDERDALE, NEWTON, RANKIN, SCOTT COUNTIES
- CHAD MCMAHAN, DISTRICT DISTRICT 6, LEE COUNTY
- SOLLIE B NORWOOD, DISTRICT DISTRICT 28, HINDS COUNTY
- **DERRICK T SIMMONS,** DISTRICT DISTRICT 12, BOLIVAR, COAHOMA, WASHINGTON COUNTIES
- SARITA M SIMMONS, DISTRICT DISTRICT 13, BOLIVAR, COAHOMA, WASHINGTON COUNTIES
- JOSEPH C THOMAS, DISTRICT DISTRICT 22, HUMPREEYS, MADISON, SHARKEY, YAZOO COUNTIES
- **BART WILLIAMS,** DISTRICT DISTRICT 15, ATTALA, CARROLL, GRENADA, LEFLORE, MONTGOMERY COUNTIES

# HOUSE

- JERAMEY D ANDERSON, DISTRICT 110, JACKSON, COUNTY
- **OTIS ANTHONY,** DISTRICT 31, BOLIVAR, SUNFLOWER, COUNTIES
- WILLIE L BAILEY, DISTRICT 49, WASHINGTON, COUNTY
- NICK BAIN, DISTRICT 2, ALCORN, COUNTY
- CHRISTOPHER BELL, DISTRICT 65, HINDS, COUNTY
- WILLIAM R BROWN, DISTRICT 70, HINDS, COUNTY
- **BRYANT W CLARK,** DISTRICT 47, BOLIVAR, ISSAQUENA, WASHINGTON, COUNTIES
- ANGELA COCKERHAM, DISTRICT 96, AMITE, PIKE, WILKENSON, COUNTIES
- SAM J CREEKMORE, DISTRICT 14, UNION, COUNTY
- **RONNIE CRUDUP,** DISTRICT 71, HINDS, COUNTY
- OSCAR DENTON, DISTRICT 55, WARREN, COUNTY
- **BOB EVANS,** DISTRICT 91, COVINGTON, FORREST, JEFF DAVIS, JONES, SIMPSON, COUNTIES
- JOHN FAULKNER, DISTRICT 5, BENTON, LAFAYETTE, MARSHALL, COUNTIES

- **STEPHANIE FOSTER,** DISTRICT 63, HINDS, MADISON, COUNTIES
- DALE GOODIN, DISTRICT 105, FORREST, COUNTY
- JEFFERY HARNESS, DISTRICT 85, CLARKE, JASPER, NEWTON, COUNTIES
- JOHN W HINES, DISTRICT 50, FRANKLIN, LAWRENCE, LINCOLN, PIKE, COUNTIES
- **GREG L HOLLOWAY,** DISTRICT 76, MADISON, RANKIN, COUNTIES
- **ROBERT L JOHNSON,** DISTRICT 94, ADAMS, FRANKLIN, JEFFERSON, COUNTIES
- **KABIR KARRIEM,** DISTRICT 41, YAZOO, ATTALA, HOLMES, COUNTIES
- HESTER JACKSON MCCRAY, DISTRICT 40, DESOTO, COUNTY
- DANA UNDERWOOD MCLEAN, DISTRICT 39, LOWNDES, COUNTY
- SOLOMON OSBORNE, DISTRICT 32, CARROLL, GRENADA, LAFAYETTE, YALOBUSHA, COUNTY
- ORLANDO W PADEN, DISTRICT 26, BOLIVAR, SUNFLOWER, , COUNTIES
- **DARYL L PORTER,** DISTRICT 98, ADAMS, AMITE, FRANKLIN, PIKE, COUNTIES
- **TRACEY T ROSEBUD,** DISTRICT 30, GRENADA, SUNFLOWER, TALLAHATCHIE, COUNTIES
- OMERIA SCOTT, DISTRICT 80, CLARKE, JASPER, JONES, COUNTIES
- ZAKIYA SUMMERS, DISTRICT 68, HINDS, RANKIN, COUNTIES
- CHEIKH TAYLOR, DISTRICT 38, LOWNDES, MONROE, COUNTIES
- **RICKEY W THOMPSON,** DISTRICT 16, LEE, CHICKASAW, MONROE, COUNTIES
- SHANDA YATES, DISTRICT 64, HINDS, MADISON, COUNTIES
- CHARLES L YOUNG, DISTRICT 82, LAUDERDALE, COUNTIES

#### About the Mississippi Association of Educators

MAE is a non-partisan association of members composed of Mississippi elementary and secondary teachers, higher education faculty and staff, educational support professionals, retired educators and college students preparing to become teachers. Our fundamental objective is to work for improved salaries, benefits, and working conditions for all education professionals and support staff, as well as for a strong Mississippi public education system. Formed in 1878, MAE is the oldest and most powerful education association in the state of Mississippi.